Central Denmark

Central Denmark Region is one of five regions in Denmark.  The Region consists of 19 municipalities (1,313,596 inhabitants). The regions’ responsibilities are within the areas of health, psychiatry, social and regional development.

13 of the municipalities have signed the Covenant of Mayor. Along with the energy accounts, the Central Denmark Region provides the data needed by the municipalities to monitor and report on their SEAPs/SECAPs. The Region has been a “Regional Covenant Coordinator” since 2017. Currently the region is starting up a cooperation to enhance the energy and climate planning in relation to the C40 standard for climate planning (DK2020). The goal is to focus on all sectors within the municipalities’ geographical area, which define how they achieve CO2 neutrality by 2050.

Within the EU ELENA Programme, the Central Denmark Region assists district heating utilities against increasing prices, while simultaneously accelerating the green transition (REFER-CDR project).

Comments are closed.